Teen Book Awards

Soaring Eagle Book Award

Soaring Eagle Book Awards

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Literacy Association, the Soaring Eagle Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming youth in grades 7-12 to select a favorite book and honor its author. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades 7-12:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors 
  • Become aware of the qualities that make a good book 
  • Choose the best rather than the mediocre 
  • Set a goal to read at least three good books 
  • To honor an author whose books Wyoming students have enjoyed

 For more information contact the Wyoming Soaring Eagle Book Award Committee.

se 2022-2023

2022-2023 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • First: Ruta Sepetys - I Must Betray You
  • Second: Karen M. McManus - You'll Be the Death of Me
  • Third: Rebecca Hanover - The Similars

2021-2022 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • Winner: Nic Stone - Dear Martin
  • 1st Runner-up: Holly Jackson - A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
  • 2nd Runner-up: Gene Luen Yang - Dragon Hoops

2020-2021 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • Winner: Adam Silvera - They Both Die at the End
  • 1st Runner-up: Alan Gratz - Grenade
  • 2nd Runner-up: Tommy Greenwald - Game Changer

2019-2020 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • Winner: Angie Thomas - Hate U Give
  • 1st Runner-up: Karen McManus - One of Us Is Lying
  • 2nd Runner-up: Sabaa Tahir - An Ember in the Ashes

2018-2019 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • Winner: Jason Reynolds - Long Way Down
  • 1st Runner-up: Alan Gratz - Projeckt 1065
  • 2nd Runner-up: Kendare Blake - Three Dark Crowns

2017-2018 Soaring Eagle Winners

  • Winner: Neal Shusterman- Scythe
  • 1st Runner-up: Monica Hesse - Girl in the Blue Coat
  • 2nd Runner-up: Gary Schmidt - Orbiting Jupiter